ABOUT US
Slider

LEADERSHIP

As the voice for workforce development in North Carolina, we work collectively to plan, coordinate, oversee, and deliver workforce solutions through the NCWorks system. Our Boards help more people and businesses across the state gain access to programs and services that make North Carolina one of the most skilled, productive, and motivated workforce systems in the nation.

Local Workforce Development Boards are the conveners of the workforce system on a local level in the state of North Carolina. They are business-led and supported by local elected officials. The Boards are charged with bringing together industry, education, labor, community, government, and other stakeholders in workforce to develop demand-driven strategies connected to regional economies and labor markets. They oversee local NCWorks Career Centers in partnership with the NCWorks Commission and Division of Workforce Solutions to deliver workforce solutions, assist job seekers with improving their skills and finding jobs, and help businesses develop a qualified workforce.

Local Workforce Development Boards:

  • Help businesses identify and obtain talented individuals they need to sustain or grow their workforce.
  • Provide information and data to education stakeholders about available jobs that are in demand and corresponding wages to ensure relevant training and services are provided to students.
  • Provide career information and guidance, access to training and education, and job search assistance to help individuals reach their career goals.
  • Partner with education, industry, and economic development to increase awareness about regional careers and develop Career Pathways that educate people on the skills and credentials they need to get those jobs.

The following individuals make up the Executive Committee and leadership of the North Carolina Association of Workforce Development Boards.

Leadership

Jeff Frederick

President
jfrederick@rti.org

Rodney Carson

Vice President
Rodney.carson@sas.com

Dr. Stephanie Deese

Executive Director
sdeese@ncawdb.org

Deb Lindner

Secretary
Deb.Lindner@precor.com

Dina Simcox

Treasurer
dina.simcox@cblproperties.com

Joan White

Past President
jwhite@northstate.net

Pat Sturdivant

President - Director's Council
pat.sturdivant@wakegov.com

Wendy Johnson

Vice President - Director's Council
wendy.johnson@wpcog.org

Nathan Ramsey

Secretary - Director's Council
nathan@landofsky.org

 
Loading